TERMENO / TRAMIN
Church of St. James in Kastelaz
San Giacomo in Castellazzo
St. Jakob in Kastelaz
1214 November 22, Trento. Federico, bishop of Trento, authorizes Waldemanus, Telcus, Geruncus, Martino and Trentino son of Sporello da Termeno, procurators of the community of Termeno, to erect a castle on the hill Castellazzo, above San Giacomo.
The traces of the castle are lost, but the church of San Giacomo remains, a splendid example of Romanesque art from the South Tyrol.
The church has been "doubled" in 1400: therefore it consists of a nave frescoed in 1200 and another of the 1400s.
The oldest part, frescoed, in the apse shows Christ in the Almond surrounded by the symbols of the evangelists, and under the 12 apostles. In the lower part of the apse the painter gave us a unique essay on the bestiaries in vogue in 1200.
On the left a headache or blemma, a triton, a centaur and a woman-bird.
On the right side of the man-dog (dog-headed), the two-tailed mermaid, ride on the backs of fish and a skiapod (the skiapods lived in India and they were with one foot that used for sun protection).
To introduce to the apse, on the left and on the right, the two "atlases" (male and female) with a harpy and a goat-fish on top.
The narration continues in the wall of the thirteenth-century church: a via crucis, a crucifixion and - under - a splendid David who cuts off his head almost almost like a giant Goliath (very gigantic: it occupies all the lower part of the wall).
In the fifteenth century the narration of the "miracle of the rooster" operated by St. James stands out.