Studenica monastery, in the Raska region of Serbia, represents the point of contact between medieval Romanesque art and Byzantine art.
It was founded by the father of Nation Serba Stefan Nemanja at the end of the twelfth century and devoted to the Virgin.
It is the most important of the monasteries built in the Ibar valley..
It is a circular monastery-fortress: the monks' cells were attached to the wall of the wall (if they can see the remains) with an important entrance portal.
Stefan Nemanja after the construction of the monastery retires to make the monk on Mount Athos with the name of Simeon where he dies and is proclaimed holy.
His third son, Rastko (known as San Sava, all saints in the family ...), returns his body to Studenica. San Sava spent seven years as archimandrite of Studenica in which he writes "Typicon" considered the initial work of Serbian literature.
The monastery houses splendid paintings of the twelfth century but the architectural and even more decorative system place it in full title among the testimonies of the Romanesque Europe.
The decoration of the portal (a splendid inhabited trellis) and even more of the apse window are full of examples of Romanesque. The bicaudal mermaid on the apse wakes up on this unexpected European medieval piece immersed in the Balkans.
The original church of the 1195 in white stone (probably from the Kotor region) was "prolonged" in the course of the 13th century with a narthex.
In addition to the church dedicated to the Virgin Mary, the monastery houses the chapel of St. Nicholas, entirely painted, and the chapel of San Giochino and Anna. A chapel dedicated to St. John the Baptist remains only a trace of foundations.
The Studenica Monastery is part of the UNESCO World Heritage List.